top of page
Search

Who're You Calling An Imposter?

One of the greatest challenges that writers -- and artists in general -- face is the infamous Imposter Syndrome. The idea that you "don't belong" in the community, that you're not a "real writer", can be almost enough to give up on the dream entirely. Below are five steps that I too -- five steps you can take -- to deal with Imposter Syndrome.


Full disclosure, these steps will not "cure" you of your Imposter Syndrome; they are merely things you can do to make dealing with it a bit easier.


1. Call Yourself a Writer


Forget "amateur". Forget "aspiring". Those are words that we use in place of "fake", to beautify the idea of not being a "real" writer, to make it less ugly; but all it does is make it easier for us to fail. Sure, if you never think of yourself as a "real" writer, then the disappointment of never becoming one will be a less painful blow; but that attitude seals your fate. If you never think of yourself as a writer, you will never be a writer.


But if you write, you are by definition a real writer. I write, therefore I am a writer.


Say it with me.


I AM A WRITER.


Calling yourself a writer -- an author, a novelist, a playwright, a poet -- solidifies that notion in your own mind. I would say that "words have power", but that feels a bit like preaching to the choir -- we are writers, after all. Call yourself a writer. Say it until it's true. Say it until you believe it. Before you know it, other people will believe you too.


2. Stay Humble


Don't call yourself an amateur or aspiring writer, but know when (and how) to keep your ego in check. Writing a few poems does not a star make. As an un-published author, I know I have a long way to go before other people take me seriously. Calling myself an author doesn't make me the next Stephen King.


Staying humble is also important for the writing process itself. If you are trying to get published, you're work is going to go through layer upon layer of pre-publication readings. From beta-readers and line editors to agents and publishing houses, your writing is going to be scrutinized and critiqued, all in the name of making it better. If your ego is too big, you won't be able to handle the criticisms that are bound to come your way. Stay humble, for your own sake.


3. Know Where You're Going


Why are you a writer? What do you expect to get out of being a writer in the long run? Where are you going with this? What is the point?


These are the questions our brain asks when our Imposter Syndrome acts up. These questions want to make us hopeless, take away everything we want from ourselves and give us every reason to give up. Having an answer can mean the difference between shutting down our insecurities and succumbing to fear of failure; but as I said before, fear of failure is the map, the door, and the key to failure itself.


4. Make It Up As You Go


"I am my own God."


I do not say this because I want to sound "cool" or inspirational; I say it because I make my own rules.


Real talk now: I'm twenty-two years old, fresh out of undergrad, with a temporary job and a one year visa. I know the general direction in which I'm going, but I have no map. Does that make me an imposter? Does being new to the game mean I'm doing it wrong? I don't know the rules.


I'm making my own rules.


Becoming an author tuber, building this website, sharing my craft and deciding to self publish -- that's how I make it happen for myself. No matter which direction you choose to go, do it your way and go with conviction.


5. Write


I've said it before and I'll say it again: if you write, YOU ARE A WRITER! Say it to yourself, say it to others; stay humble, but know your worth in your craft; find your direction, and make your own road map to get where you're going; and above all, write.


Never let Imposter Syndrome stop you from being a writer. Never let your fears and insecurities stop you from writing.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page